A Gift from my Grandpa – by Flor

My grandpa was the most amazing old guy in the whole world. Well, that’s inaccurate because he wasn’t old at all… for me he was the definition of a young heart: always happy, always active and creative, always learning and loving. We shared the love for food: pistachios were our favourite snack but I quit when I got ill after eating one pistachios too many. I loved chocolate raisins and chilli candies…  obviously my mom didn’t allow me to eat a lot, but my grandpa spoiled me every time I visited to his house.

I was happy there, I felt free even when we both had to hide from the inquisitive sight of my grandma. We laughed.

Since I can remember we had a ritual. When he visited me we went to the corner shop and he bought me a Crunch chocolate. He knew I loved them, and I hope he knew how much I loved him.

In the last years I switched to a Belgian chocolate bar. One day my grandpa came from the supermarket with a beautiful chocolate bar. Big. Milky. Delicious. He had a soft spot for making people happy, for making me happy. From then on he brought me the same bar every time he came back from the supermarket. Years went by.

One day, like any other Saturday he gave me the bar and I left a few pieces in the fridge for later. Days passed and suddenly we all have to become to understand that we had to continue living without him. Pieces of the last bar were still there, wrapped, unaware that my life was never going to be the same. I saw them but I didn’t want to eat them. They looked delicious but I didn’t touch them. Somehow I wanted to hold on to one of the last things I got from him.

One day still heart-broken I decided to eat them and give my heart a closure. Remember with every taste the legacy of a great man, his infinite love, his strength. Months went by and although I always liked the chocolate for a reason I never got the name. I just remembered the gold and purple packet and nothing else. Suddenly, one day in the supermarket I saw the same chocolate. It just broke my heart and I broke into tears. I couldn’t help it, in the middle of the chocolate isle.

Suddenly it seemed funny to me that when my grandpa was with us I tried to get my hand into one of the bars but they were always out of stock. Somehow he always managed to have one for me. Every week. I never saw them again after he passed away until that day. I don’t know if it was the way of my grandpa to tell me he was there for me or I was just lucky to find THOSE chocolates in stock. Well, I know it was just luck, but anyway, chocolate is one of those beautiful things in life that reminds me of my grandpa.

4 thoughts on “A Gift from my Grandpa – by Flor

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful story with my blog. It has touched me and I have been thinking of you all week. While I was at the grocery store on Thursday, I ran over to the chocolate isle to see if I could find your chocolate. I’m not sure if this is it, but the gold and purple wrapper caught my eye. I don’t know what the chances are that this is your chocolate, but in the off chance that I was right, I hope this photo will help you remember the brand in the future.

    • I agree, completely. This blog brings me a significant amount of joy. Even when topics are so sad, it’s such a blessing to have fond memories of our family and to be able to relive them time and time again.

  2. This is such a beautiful story. It’s funny how the physical tokens come to symbolize the person, and how we get that peace when we realize that it’s the love and the memories that we must hang on to, not the candy, the vase, or the piece of clothing. Well written.

Leave a Reply

